Week 9 Reflection: Shifting from “What” to “Where” and “How”

Well, I am certainly glad I took the time to read through some blogs this week.  I had a very difficult time completing this weeks blog.  Perhaps because I am busy preparing to move or maybe because I was a little unsure of the content this week.  I am not certain, either way I read several blogs that made me think about my opinions on moving from the “what” to the “where” and “how”.

My contributions this week included reading and responding to several blog posts.  Leslie shared a great resource on her blog page.  She included a blog posting by Krista Moroder who discusses the idea that we have teachers that know how to teach and teachers that know how to use technology, (Moroder, 2012).  I think it is important to remember that we don’t always have to use technology.  There is still great value in teaching without technology.  Technology is another tool to add to our tool box.  If we can use it effecitvely to teach or learn then great, but if we are using technology simply to use it then perhaps we should consider not using.

I also took sometime to look through Gary’s blog.  I actually read his reflection this week.  How interesting.  He spoke about the “what” of teaching and how crucial this is to learning.  It is very important that we allow our students time to explore how to learn and give them the skill set to be life long learners, but part of that is helping students build their background knowledge.  Without giving students background knowledge and the skill set they need to “learn how to learn” they will not develop the skills necessary to be life long learners (especially in the elementary grades).  I am reminded of a blog I read by Wiggins.  In his blog he spoke about high school students who didn’t know how to read for understanding.  The students could read but didn’t have the skill set to make inferences.  He continued by explaining why the students couldn’t make inferences, no one had given them the skills to make inferences.  Telling a student to make an inferences or simply providing examples does not teach the students how to do this.  There are certainly clues or things students can look for in a situation to help them infer.  As educators we have to help students learn the what so they can apply it to other situations.

This week I also commented on Brandi’s blog.  Brandi has a neat situation in that she works with students who are not familiar with the oustide world because they live in a small rural community.  I have not been in that situation, however I tried to pull some resources for her to use.  I do not know how helpful they will be, though since I am not in that situation.

I also took some time to read through some of Heather’s blog.  She is trying to catch up with her blog posts so I commented on learning as a part of the collective.  She spoke about using Kagan Learning Structures so I shared some of my favorite learning structures and how I used them.  Great post!

Finally, I am working on catching up with the Minecraft Game group since I switched.  I am excited to be a part of this team because I am using Minecraft in my other class as well.  In the comment section I suggested creating a survey to assess where the students are at with using Minecraft.  Colin is super awesome and already made one!  I jumped on today to suggest some questions for the survey but he is too quick! 🙂  Thanks, Colin for all your hard work.
Overall a busy, productive week!

 

Resources:

Wiggins. ().  The Shift from Teaching Content to Teaching Learning. Retrieved from http://www.teachthought.com/teaching/the-shift-from-teaching-content-to-teaching-learning/

Moroder, K. (2012, November Friday). Let’s Stop Talking about Teaching with Technology, and Start Talking about Teaching. Retrieved from http://www.edtechcoaching.org/2012/11/lets-stop-talking-about-teaching-with.html

Leave a Reply

