What does the way you play have to do with embracing change and how does this impact you as a professional?

Embracing change seems less challenging for me than say my parents, however the same could be said about my kids.  They are growing up in a world that is changing daily.  My children are often more comfortable with change than I am.  I also recall thinking as a child that I wanted to be a parent who was fit and could play with my children; I envisioned play being things we would do outside.  I am slowly learning that I can also engage with my children by playing games which may not be outside or physically active.  I still prefer playing with my children when we are physically active; however, I am also learning that I can spend valuable time with my children by playing games such as Minecraft.  My kids and I are having a great time learning about Minecraft together.  Even my youngest child is getting involved by watching and learning how to move around in Minecraft.  I still need lots of help playing games though.

I found it difficult to complete the gamer profile this week.  I wanted a choice that said something about neither option given being applicable.  So, I do not really feel that my gamer profile is accurate.

 game profile

I do like to explore in games, however I only like to explore if there is NO risk of being killed.  I do not enjoy the risk factor that games have.  I suppose I like games like Minecraft that allow you to use a setting such as “Peaceful”, where there are no creatures that can harm the player(s).  So, a portion of my gamer profile is accurate.

I suppose my gamer profile speaks a little about my ability to embrace change.  I am willing to embrace change as long as the risk to me is not too great.  I suppose games offer a risk factor without creating risk in real life.

There are many advances in the ever-changing world of technology that allow students to take risks in the classroom.  One tool I came across is Genius Hour.  Genius Hour was created by Google.  It encourages students to “explore and develop their own passions and creativity,” (d97cooltools.blogspot.com).  You might be thinking that this is some game online that students can get involved in, however it is not.  The Google team uses the idea that employees can use 20% of their work time to work on projects that they want to work on provided the project has the potential to increase their skills at work or be used in a future work project.  Imagine what students could learn if a portion of their work time was spent on things they are passionate about!  Instead of “Fun Friday” where students have unstructured free time, we could give students time to work on projects they are passionate about!  What a great idea!  Dave Burgess speaks about passion in his book, Teach like a Pirate.  We can foster our students’ passions by encouraging them to participate in Genius Hour!

Let’s embrace change by encourage our students to explore their passions through play.  As one of Melvina Kurashige’s students said, “students are more comfortable with what they know best and many students excel at playing video games; when we add education students can do better in school and enjoy doing it,” (paraphrased from Nicole from Melvina’s class).

Resources:

Thomas, Douglas & Brown S., John. (2011). A New Culture of Learning: Cultivating the Imagination for a World of Constant Change.

Burgess, Dave. (2012). Teach like a Pirate. Dave Burgess Consulting Inc. San Diego, CA

Embrace Change in the New Year with Genius Hour. (2014). Retrieved from http://gettingsmart.com/2014/01/embrace-change-new-year-genius-hour/

Cool Tools for the 21st Century Learner. Retrieved from http://d97cooltools.blogspot.com/2014/01/embrace-change-in-new-year-with-genius.html#.UxIx_IVGaKg

Gamified OOC. Melvina Kurashige: Mid-Pacific Institute Student Showcase. Retrieved from https://plus.google.com/u/0/110129890717354735708/posts

Bartle Test of Gamer Psychology. Retrieved from Bartle Test of Gamer Psychology _ Explorer.htm

Leave a Reply

